Nigerian Government Approves 39 New Private Universities, Expanding Higher Education Opportunities Nationwide

Affordable Data Plans for MTN, Airtel, Glo, and 9mobile at

Federal Executive Council greenlights diverse range of private institutions to support education and economic growth

President Muhammadu Buhari approves 39 Private Universities

Abuja, May 17, 2023 – The Federal Executive Council of Nigeria, in a special meeting led by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, has granted approval for the establishment of 39 new private universities across the country. The decision, based on a memorandum presented by the Ministry of Education, aims to enhance access to quality education and contribute to the nation’s economic prosperity.

Buy Cheapest Data Price
Our Data Prices On Alrahuzdata:
- MTN SME 1: N256 per 1GB
- MTN SME 2: N253 per 1GB
- Airtel CG: N272 per 1GB
- Glo CG: N237 per 1GB
- 9mobile: N129 per 1GB
REGISTER NOW to get started:

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, emphasized the crucial role of education in advancing the nation’s economic fortunes. With this recent approval, Nigeria now boasts a total of 75 private universities, reflecting the government’s commitment to expanding educational opportunities for its citizens.

The newly approved private institutions include:

  1. Rayhaan University, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State
  2. Muhammad Kamalud-Deen University, Ilorin, Kwara State
  3. Sam Maris University, Supare, Ondo State
  4. Aletheia University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State
  5. Lux Mundi University, Umuahia, Abia State
  6. Maduka University, Ekwegbe-Nsukka, Enugu State
  7. Peaceland University, Enugu, Enugu State
  8. Amadeus University, Amizi, Abia State
  9. Vision University, Ikogbo, Ogun State
  10. Azman University, Kano, Kano State
  11. Huda University, Gusau, Zamfara State
  12. Franco British International University, Kaduna, Kaduna State
  13. Canadian University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT
  14. Miva Open University, Abuja, FCT
  15. Gerar University of Medical Science, Imope-Ijebu, Ogun State
  16. British Canadian University, Obudu, Cross River State
  17. Hensard University, Toru-Orua, Bayelsa State
  18. Phoenix University, Agwada, Nasarawa State
  19. Wigwe University, Isiokpo, Rivers State
  20. Hillside University of Science and Technology, Okemesi, Ekiti State
  21. University on the Niger, Umunya, Anambra State
  22. Elrari Medical University, Kano, Kano State
  23. Venite University, Iloro-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  24. Shanahan University, Onitsha, Anambra State
  25. The Duke Medical University, Calabar, Cross River State
  26. Mercy Medical University, Iwara, Iwo, Osun State
  27. Cosmopolitan University, Abuja, FCT
  28. Iconic University of Open Learning, Sokoto, Sokoto State
  29. West Midlands University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  30. Amaj University, Abuja, FCT
  31. Prime University, Abuja, FCT
  32. El-Amin University, Niger State
  33. College of Petroleum and Energy Studies
  34. Jewel University, Gombe, Gombe State
  35. Nigerian University of Technology and Management, Lagos, Lagos State
  36. Al-Muhibbah Open University, Abuja, FCT
  37. Al-Bayan University, Ankpa, Kogi State
  38. Lighthouse University Benin, Edo State
  39. African School of Economics, Abuja, FCT

READ ALSO: FRSC Begins Physical Screening for 2023 Recruitment Exercise



This expansion of private universities in Nigeria underscores the government’s commitment to providing diverse educational options and developing a skilled workforce that meets the demands of a rapidly evolving economy. The establishment of these new private universities is expected to foster greater educational diversity and expand opportunities for students across the country.

The approval of these universities reflects the government’s recognition of the pivotal role education plays in driving national progress. By increasing the number of tertiary education institutions, the government aims to enhance human capital development, stimulate innovation, and create a skilled workforce equipped to tackle the challenges of a dynamic and competitive job market.

In addition to the establishment of private universities, the Federal Executive Council also approved the Universal Implementation of the Employee Compensation Act (ECA) 2010. The Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, highlighted that this act, operated by the Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF), replaces the previous “Workmen Compensation” legislation. The universal implementation of this act extends comprehensive protection to workers in both the private and public sectors, ensuring their welfare and well-being.

These significant developments in the education and labor sectors exemplify the government’s commitment to nation-building and socio-economic growth. The expansion of private universities and the implementation of enhanced employee compensation measures are essential steps toward fostering a more prosperous and inclusive Nigeria.

Source: Channel TV

RELATED: President Buhari to Inaugurate World’s Largest Dangote Refinery, Propelling Nigeria’s Oil Refining Capacity

Google News Channel

Follow us on Google News for Latest Headlines

Join Our WhatsApp, Facebook, or Telegram Group For More News, Click This Link Below;

WhatsApp Channel

WhatsApp Group

Facebook Page

Our Twitter Page
Telegram Group

Threads App Official Page

Discover more from Allmedia24 News

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Allmedia24 Whatsapp Group


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *